Local health providers

Department of Health

The Department of Health and Social Care (DHSC) is a department of the Government, responsible for government policy on health and adult social care matters in England, some elements of Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland. It oversees the English National Health Service (NHS). The department is led by the Secretary of State for Health and Social Care with two Ministers of State and three Parliamentary Under-Secretaries of State. 

The responsibilities of the  DHSC include:

  • supporting and advising ministers: helping them shape and deliver policy that delivers the government’s objectives
  • setting direction: anticipating the future and leading debate ensuring they protect and improve global and domestic health
  • accountability: making sure the department and their arm’s length bodies deliver on our agreed plans and commitments
  • acting as guardians of the health and care framework: making sure the legislative, financial, administrative and policy frameworks are fit for purpose and work together
  • troubleshooting: in the last resort, the public and Parliament expect the  DHSC to take the action needed to resolve crucial and complex issues

The Department of Health and Social Care has a lot of information on its website about Health Care, Social Care and Public Health.

For more information and contact details visit the Department of Health Contact Us section.

The NHS in East Cheshire

There are two main types of health services provided by the NHS in East Cheshire. These are community based services and hospital based services.

Community based services are mainly commissioned by the two Clinical Commissioning Groups and NHS England:

To find out more about our local clinical commissioning groups (CCGs), including what a clinical commissioning group is and their role in delivering health services, please see the documents below. These documents also include information on the role of each  CCG in delivering services for children and young people with special educational needs and disabilities (SEND).

The hospital based services provided by the NHS in East Cheshire are primarily provided by Mid Cheshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and the East Cheshire NHS Trust.

  • The Mid Cheshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust operates the hospitals in Crewe (Leighton) and the Victoria Infirmary at Northwich as well as the Elmhurst intermediate care centre in Winsford.
  • The East Cheshire NHS Trust operates hospitals in Congleton, Knutsford and Macclesfield.
  • The East Cheshire NHS Trust also manages the community services in East Cheshire (formerly known as Cheshire East Community Health to 31 March 2011).

Non-NHS Health Services

There are a lot of health based services provided in East Cheshire that are not owned, managed or operated by the NHS.

Some of these services and organisations in East Cheshire are commissioned by the NHS to help the NHS. These organisations can include private hospitals, opticians and dentists.

Finding information on local health services

Local health providers have contributed details of many local health services for children and young people (both hospital based and community services) in the information Cheshire East Live Well directory - for more information, see the Health matters category, or for local health services for children and young people with special educational needs and disabilities, see the Local Offer for SEND - Health category.  

For a full list of health services in Cheshire East please visit NHS Choices - Health services near you. This can be used to find a local GP, Hospital or Dentist as well as Pharmacies, amongst other health services.