Independent Reviewing Officers

There are two Independent Reviewing Officers ( IROs ) sub teams within Cheshire East Safeguarding and Quality Assurance Unit. 

All  IROs

  • make sure that the plans for children and young people, match their assessed needs and state clearly what is required to meet these needs
  • make sure children, young people, parents and carers understand the plans 
  • make sure everyone listens to what children, young people and their parents have to say
  • make sure everyone is keeping to their part of the agreed plan

Cared for IROs

Monitor the quality of Care /Pathway Plans and services provided to children and young people and undertake:

  • Cared for reviews
  • Pathway Plan reviews
  • Chair Disruption meetings for children and young people whose  long term placements broke down and Chair Level 2 Meetings (Pan Cheshire Protocol) for children missing from home/ care
  • contributions to audits, portfolio reading and tracking events

The Annual Report of the Cared for IRO team (PDF, 453KB) is a reflective account of their activity in 2019-2020 which outlines their involvement and challenge in ensuring good outcomes for children in our care.

Child Protection IROs

Become involved when there are significant risks to a child or young person and a multi agency child protection plan is required, CP IROs chair:

  • child protection conferences
  • contextual safeguarding conferences
  • harmful sexual behaviour conferences (AIM2)
  • Level 2 Meetings (Pan Cheshire Protocol) for children missing from home
  • undertake significant audit activity 

Contact information 








ndependent Reviewing Officers contact information
NameEmail and phone number  

Nabeel Chaudhry 

Head of Safeguarding

nabeel.Chaudhry@cheshireeast.gov.uk

01606 288076

Karen Chan

Safeguarding Manager
Cared for Children

karen.chan@cheshireeast.gov.uk

01606 274973

07711 230512

Katherine Oldacre 

Safeguarding Manager
Children in Need / Child 
Protection / LADO

Rachel Kenyon

Maternity cover Katherine Oldacre

katherine.oldacre@cheshireeast.gov.uk

01606 288934

 

 

rachel.kenyon@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07970 768560

Angela Ford

Child protection
Independent Reviewing
Officer

angela.ford@cheshireeaast.gov.uk

07816 593101

 

Ian Martin

Child protection
Independent Reviewing
Officer

ian.martin@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07816 593015

Kevin Tang

Independent Reviewing
Officer

kevin.tang@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07901 114875

Dawn Walker

Independent Reviewing
Officer

dawn.walker@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07971 397326

 

Karen Gray


Independent Reviewing 
Officer (Agency)

karen.gray@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07813 343612

Rachel Riley

Independent Reviewing
Officer

rachel.riley@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07966 824240

Victor Aturinda

Independent Reviewing
Officer

victor.aturinda@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07816 593090

Lisa Cook

Independent Reviewing
Officer

lisa.cook@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07740 378289

Barbara Banks

Independent Reviewing Officer
Child Protection

barbara.banks@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07794 429819


Allison James

Independent Reviewing Officer
Child Protection

allison.james@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07816 367393

Natasha Goodwin

Child Protection Chair

natasha.goodwin@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07580969755

Julia Tharatt

Child Protection Chair

julia.tharatt@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07920 818778

Jenny Brown

Child Protection Chair

jennifer.brown@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07920 818778

Local Authority Designated
Officer 
(LADO)

lado@cheshireeast.gov.uk

01606 85904. 

 

Find a service

Rate this page

How do you rate this page?