Independent Reviewing Officers

There are two Independent Reviewing Officers (IROs) sub teams within Cheshire East Safeguarding and Quality Assurance Unit. 

All  IROs

  • make sure that the plans for children and young people, match their assessed needs and state clearly what is required to meet these needs
  • make sure children, young people, parents and carers understand the plans 
  • make sure everyone listens to what children, young people and their parents have to say
  • make sure everyone is keeping to their part of the agreed plan

Cared for IROs

Monitor the quality of Care /Pathway Plans and services provided to children and young people and undertake:

  • Cared for reviews
  • Pathway Plan reviews
  • Chair Disruption meetings for children and young people whose  long term placements broke down and Chair Level 2 Meetings (Pan Cheshire Protocol) for children missing from home/ care
  • contributions to audits, portfolio reading and tracking events

Child Protection IROs

Become involved when there are significant risks to a child or young person and a multi agency child protection plan is required, CP IROs chair:

  • child protection conferences
  • contextual safeguarding conferences
  • harmful sexual behaviour conferences (AIM2)
  • Level 2 Meetings (Pan Cheshire Protocol) for children missing from home
  • undertake significant audit activity 

Contact information 

Independent Reviewing Officers contact information
NameEmail and phone number  

Kate Rose

Head of Safeguarding

kate.rose@cheshireeast.gov.uk

01606 288076

Karen Chan

Safeguarding Manager
Cared for Children

karen.chan@cheshireeast.gov.uk

01606 274973

07711 230512

Susanne Leece

Safeguarding Manager
Children in Need / Child 
Protection / LADO

susanne.leece@cheshireeast.gov.uk

01606 288939

Victor Aturinda

Independent Reviewing
Officer

victor.aturinda@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07816 593090

Dawn Alexander

Independent Reviewing
Officer

Dawn.alexander@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07971 397326

 

Lisa Cook

Independent Reviewing 
Officer

lisa.cook@cheshireeast.gov.uk

01606 288986

Rachel Dudley

Independent Reviewing
Officer

rachel.dudley@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07966 824240

Angela Ford 

Independent Reviewing
Officer

angela.ford@cheshireeaast.gov.uk 

07816 593101

Ian Martin

Independent Reviewing
Officer

ian.martin@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07816 593015

Allison Pearson

Independent Reviewing
Officer

allison.pearson@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07773966527

Kevin Tang

Independent Reviewing
Officer

kevin.tang@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07901 114875

Rachel Thomas

Independent Reviewing
Officer

rachel.thomas@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07970 768560

Barbara Banks

Independent Reviewing Officer
Child Protection

barbara.banks@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07794 429819


Jenny Brown

Independent Reviewing Officer
Child Protection

jennifer.brown@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07889 185981


Michelle McPherson

Independent Reviewing Officer
Child Protection

michelle.mcpherson@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07789 271211

Katherine Pitchers

Independent Reviewing Officer
Child Protection 

katherine.pitchers@cheshireeast.gov.uk

01606 288934

Julia Tharatt

Independent Reviewing Officer
Child Protection

julia.tharatt@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07920 818778

Local Authority Designated
Officer 
(LADO)

lado@cheshireeast.gov.uk

01606 288931