Providers of health services in Cheshire East

Department of Health

The Department of Health (often referred to as the DH) is the government body responsible for the policy, guidance and publications for NHS and social care professionals. The Department of Health provides strategic leadership for public health, the NHS and social care in England.

The DH is committed to improving the quality and convenience of care provided by the NHS and social services. Its work includes setting national standards, shaping the direction of health and social care services and promoting healthier living.

The DH is responsible for:

  • standards of health care, including the NHS
  • setting the strategic framework for adult social care and influencing local authority spend on social care
  • setting the direction on promoting and protecting the public's health, taking the lead on issues such as environmental hazards to health, infectious diseases, health promotion and education, the safety of medicines, and ethical issues.

The Department of Health has a lot of information on its website about Health Care, Social Care and Public Health.

You can contact the DH in a number of ways. For more information, please visit the Department of Health contact us section.

The NHS in East Cheshire

There are two main types of health services provided by the NHS in East Cheshire. These are community based services and hospital based services.

Community based services

Community based services are mainly commissioned by Cheshire Clinical Commissioning Group and NHS England:

Note: prior to 1 April 2020, there were two Clinical Commissioning Groups (CCGs) covering the area of Cheshire East – South Cheshire  CCG and Eastern Cheshire CCG .

Hospital based services

The hospital based services provided by the NHS in East Cheshire are primarily provided by Mid Cheshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust and the East Cheshire NHS Trust.

  • The Mid Cheshire Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust operates the hospitals in Crewe (Leighton) and the Victoria Infirmary at Northwich as well as the Elmhurst intermediate care centre in Winsford.
  • The East Cheshire NHS Trust operates hospitals in Congleton, Knutsford and Macclesfield.
  • The East Cheshire NHS Trust also manages the community services in East Cheshire (formerly known as Cheshire East Community Health to 31 March 2011).

Cheshire East Partnership

Local public sector organisations also work together to improve the health and wellbeing of residents, under an arrangement known as the Cheshire East Partnership.

Non-NHS Health Services

There are a lot of health based services provided in East Cheshire that are not owned, managed or operated by the NHS.

Some of these services and organisations are commissioned by the NHS to help the NHS. These organisations can include private hospitals, opticians and dentists. There are also preventative services commissioned by Cheshire East Council due to its Public Health responsibilities.

Finding information on local health services

Local health providers have contributed details of many local health services for children and young people (both hospital based and community services). For more information, see the health category, or for local health services for children and young people with special educational needs and disabilities, see the Local Offer for SEND - Health category.  
For a full list of health services in Cheshire East please visit NHS Choices - Health services near you. This can be used to find a local doctor, hospital or dentist as well as pharmacies, amongst other health services.

Also in this section

Find a service

Rate this page

How do you rate this page?