Independent Reviewing Officers

There are two Independent Reviewing Officers (IROs) sub teams within Cheshire East Safeguarding and Quality Assurance Unit. 

All  IROs

  • make sure the plans clearly match the assessed needs of children and young people and state clearly what is required to meet these needs
  • make sure children, young people, parents and carers understand the plans 
  • make sure everyone listens to what you have to say
  • make sure everyone is keeping to their part of the agreed plan

Cared for IROs

Monitor the quality of Care /Pathway Plans and services provided to children and young people and undertake:

  • Cared for reviews
  • Pathway Plan reviews
  • disruption meetings for children and young people whose  long term placements broke down and review safety plans for children missing from home/ care
  • contributions to audits, portfolio reading and tracking events

Child Protection IROs

Become involved when significant risks to children and young people require discussion and safeguarding by actions agreed in a Child Protection Plan. CP IROs chair:

  • child protection conferences
  • child sexual exploitation conferences
  • harmful sexual behaviour conferences (AIM2)
  • undertake significant audit activity 

Annual Independent Review Officers Reports

Contact information 

Independent Reviewing Officers contact information
NameEmail and phone number  

Kate Rose

Head of Safeguarding

kate.rose@cheshireeast.gov.uk

01606 288076

Anna Connelly

Safeguarding Manager
Cared for Children

anna.connelly@cheshireeast.gov.uk

01625 374973

07773 966527

Susanne Leece

Safeguarding Manager
Children in Need / Child 
Protection / LADO

susanne.leece@cheshireeast.gov.uk

01606 288939

Victor Aturinda

Independent Reviewing
Officer

victor.aturinda@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07816 593090

Karen Chan

Independent Reviewing
Officer

karen.chan@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07711 230512

Rachel Dudley

Independent Reviewing
Officer

rachel.dudley@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07966 824240

Angela Ford 

Independent Reviewing
Officer

angela.ford@cheshireeaast.gov.uk 

07816 593101

Lisa Jura

Independent Reviewing
Officer

lisa.jura@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07813 343612

Ian Martin

Independent Reviewing
Officer

ian.martin@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07816 593015

Kevin Tang

Independent Reviewing
Officer

kevin.tang@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07901 114875

Rachel Thomas

Independent Reviewing
Officer

rachel.thomas@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07970 768560

Independent Reviewing
Officer

Rima Vysniauskas

(Temporary cover)

rima.vysniauskas@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07740 378289

Barbara Banks

Independent Reviewing Officer
Child Protection

barbara.banks@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07794 429819


Shirley Jordan

Independent Reviewing Officer
Child Protection

shirley.jordan@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07889 185981


Michelle McPherson

Independent Reviewing Officer
Child Protection

michelle.mcpherson@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07789 271211

Katherine Pitchers

Independent Reviewing Officer
Child Protection 

Simone Taylor

(Temporary cover) 

katherine.pitchers@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07825 896907

simone.taylor@cheshireeast.gov.uk
Covering until July 2018

Kate Press

Independent Reviewing Officer
Child Protection

kate.press@cheshireeast.gov.uk

07920 818778

Local Authority Designated
Officer 
(LADO)

lado@cheshireeast.gcsx.gov.uk

01606 288931