Cheshire Police and Crime Panel

The Police Reform and Social Responsibility Act 2011 introduced significant changes in police governance and accountability, in particular the introduction of directly elected Police and Crime Commissioners and a Police and Crime Panel for each force area.

The Panel maintains a regular check and balance on the performance of the Commissioner. The Cheshire Police and Crime Panel is made up of ten local councillors from across the county, plus three co-opted independent members.

The Panel may co-opt additional members including extra councillors provided the panel does not exceed 20 members and the Home Secretary agrees to the increased size of the panel.

Current webcasts

Please Tweet your questions to the Panel @CheshirePCPanel.

Previous webcasts

Responsibilities of the panel

  • To consider the Cheshire Police and Crime Commissioner’s proposed council tax precept for policing, with the power to veto
  • To consider the Commissioner’s proposed appointment of a Chief Constable, with the power to veto
  • The ability to review the police and crime plan and annual report
  • To request reports and call the Police and Crime Commissioner to attend its meetings
  • To consider complaints against the Police and Crime Commissioner of a non-criminal nature.

The Panel will not scrutinise the performance of the Constabulary - that is the role of the Police and Crime Commissioner. The Panel will only scrutinise the actions and decisions of the Commissioner.

Panel rules of procedure

Members of the Cheshire Police and Crime Panel

List of Cheshire Police and Crime Panel members

Cheshire East Council

  • Councillor Steven Edgar
  • Councillor Paul Findlow
  • Councillor Howard Murray
  • Councillor George Walton (Reserve)

Cheshire West and Chester Council

  • Councillor Robert Bisset
  • Councillor Martyn Delaney
  • Councillor Andrew Dawson

Halton Borough Council

  • Councillor Norman Plumpton Walsh
  • Councillor Dave Thompson

Warrington Borough Council

  • Councillor Brian Maher
  • Councillor Amanda King

Statutory Co-opted Member

  • Mrs Sally Hardwick

Statutory Co-opted Member

  • Mr Robert Fousert

Additional Co-opted Member

  • Mr Eric Hodgson